Data Dump.

The space between what I should be doing and what I am doing is small, but significant. I should be going to bed. It’s not that hard to do tonight. Some nights, it involves a lot of cleaning up or dishes or tasks. Some nights, it involves getting myself up off the couch, which is an arduous task the later it gets. Tonight, it’s not hard. I’m sitting at the table, having just assembled 60 very punny Teacher Appreciation packets full of Starburst for tomorrow’s PTG-sponsored luncheon. (Thank you, ladies of Pinterest, for the inspiration.)

Photo May 02, 11 21 00 PM

All I have to do is pack up the leftover candies and turn off the lights. But before I do, here’s a little data dump of the things we’ve done lately.

Photo Apr 26, 6 21 35 PM

We voted. Actually, he voted, which is apparently not allowed. But no one’s in the little booth with me and he’s basically an extension of me, still, right? (Ok, he’s not; I know.) Anyway. His first election with me was in utero, for Obama in 2008. He hasn’t missed one yet.

Photo Apr 30, 4 48 16 PM

We’ve played Monopoly. And the trouble with Monopoly (well, one of the troubles with Monopoly) is that it takes up the whole damn table. The only reason this photo was taken was so that we could put the game away to eat dinner and then re-set it exactly as it had been. The Who is a big fan of photographing things to remember them. Wonder where he picked up that habit.

Photo May 01, 3 53 30 PM

We made something on a pottery wheel. I’d like to tell you what we made, but I’m still not sure what it is, even though it is done and drying. It might have been a little more successful if a) the first page of instructions wasn’t covered for the first hour of this project, b) The Who actually enjoyed the feeling of wet slimy clay all over his hands (the hands in the photo are mine), or c) we had something a little more powerful than a plastic wheel running on four D-batteries.

Photo May 02, 4 06 32 PM

We spied a high school softball game on our walk home from school with a friend. (It’s no secret that I am a total sucker for photos of The Who with his buddies doing typical “little suburban kid” things.)

And now to that going to bed thing I was talking about before. (Somehow it seems harder than it did a half hour ago, which is always the way.)

Leave a Reply

