Sports Day.

I wanted to show you people some photos from Sports Day yesterday, but it turns out that I couldn’t seem to muster up the energy to edit photos and post them. This cold I’ve been nursing all week is now making me sound like Debra Winger with consumption. I fell asleep on the couch last night at 9pm, missing the end of Jill and Jessa: Counting On, which was really disappointing. I love me some Duggars. (I mean, not all of them. Probably not any of them as actual people, but I do like the show for reasons I can’t really explain and choose not to explore.) Aaaaanyway…

Sports Day!
Sports Day turned out to be way better than I expected, mostly because I had a brilliant idea in the morning that worked out beautifully. So, we started with an extra-long game of table-football, which he followed with watching the Philadelphia Union vs. New England Revolution game that we had recorded last weekend while I hopped in the shower.

SD1

Have you ever played table football? It’s actually not terrible. I chose to be the Bengals because I enjoy their helmets. And because he had already claimed the Pats.

Then, we headed into South Philly for lunch at Chickie’s and Pete’s, which neither of us had ever been to, but which The Who has now declared to be his favorite restaurant. (He’s basing this solely on the fries, I think. Maybe also the multiple television screens showing every sporting event ever.)

SD3

He did not opt for the crab fries, though he was pleasantly surprised by how much he liked the cheese dip. Calamari in ketchup — as usual.

And then my idea: a tour of Lincoln Financial Field (where the hometown NFL team plays.) I was able to figure out a way for his buddy to meet us at the stadium and I accompanied them both on the exhilarating tour. He only talked about Brady and the Pats a few times (and his pal only mentioned his favorite team, the Jets, once.) At least I got him to wear his Eagles shirt. And he does report that, although the Pats are still his favorite team still, he is a much bigger Eagles fan since the tour.

SD4

We got to go into the press box, the club suites, the media room, the locker room, and on the field — in addition to seeing the team’s entrance tunnel, the mascot’s room, the coaches’ meeting rooms, and broadcast suites.

After the tour, The Who and his buddy came home and played a little basketball inside before we all headed to the tennis courts to play outside for a while.

Another successful theme day in the books. (Tomorrow I will blog about Yes Day, which was another great one. It has helped that the weather has been amazing this week. It’s hard to have a bad day when it’s 65 and sunny.)

Leave a Reply

