Theme.

If there’s one thing I love, it’s a theme. Theme parties, theme decorations, theme gifts… A good theme is like a joke you can riff on forever — like that one time a friend and I spent all night retitling songs, replacing the word “love” with the word “boobs.” Sophomoric, to be sure, but some of the titles continue to make me chuckle when I think of them. “Boobs Lift Us Up (Where We Belong.)” Joe Cocker, no less.

Anyway, themes. Limitless, yet challenging. And if there’s another thing I love, it’s a challenge.

Last night, before I went to sleep on the eve of Spring Break, a solid week of no school and no plans, I devised a plan. Theme Days. You guys. It’s a win-win-win. He loves it. I love it. And we both love how much in love with it we are. When he woke me this morning to suggest we plan our day and I revealed my idea, he took a page right from the improv handbook and ran with it. He took my list of themes, jotted them onto slips of paper, shuffled them around in his Sox hat, and plucked one out. Lego Day. Today was Lego Day. All Lego, All Day.

LD12

Each theme day lives in its own note on my phone. We didn’t get to everything on the list, but we hit highlights.

LD1

We hit the Lego Store first. I am charmed by the fact that there are wizard hats in the “make your own minifig” bins.

LD3

Then we built and raced cars. He totally won, every time.

LD4

No one should be surprised to learn that we lunched at Panera. Nor that we busted out the small, free gift set the Lego Store gave us with our purchase as we ate.

LD5

We stopped on the way home to procure Lego cake ingredients. And also to hide in shopping carts.

LD6

I insist on scratch baking and natural colors most of the time. Except not this time.

LD11

While the cake was in the oven, we worked on this beaut. He’s finally old and dextrous enough to really love the detail work of the “Technic” series. When he finished this pull-back off-roader, he exclaimed, “I can’t believe this is Lego!”

LD10

And then there was cake.

LD9

Blue, blue, wicked blue cake.

Can’t wait to see which theme he pulls tomorrow. Keep an eye on this space to find out.

One thought on “Theme.

Leave a Reply

