Deux.

I’ve been meaning to blog about this trip for days. I got kind of used to the routine of nightly blogging on our shore vacation and expected I’d do the same for this one, but my evenings have been different here. Instead of putting The Who to bed at 7:30 and then sitting by myself in a hotel lobby, I’ve been putting The Who to bed at 8 or 8:30 or 9, chatting with my aunt, and then crashing an hour later myself.

Let’s catch up. My mother requested that her family accompany her to Ellis Island to do some research for her 70th birthday. So, we did. There were some challenges on the trip, including an epic meltdown after a couple of nights of sleeping for shit, but outside of that, it was a great time. The weather was perfect, everyone’s behavior was stellar, and it was fun to all be in the same hotel. The Who loved tromping up and down the halls to visit his grandparents and I gotta say, so did I.

Staying in -- and traveling from -- Jersey City as opposed to Manhattan was definitely the way to go. Personally, I love NY, but it was cheaper to stay and more sane to navigate. Plus, the line for the JC ferry was easily half as long and moved twice as quickly at the Battery Park one.

Staying in — and traveling from — Jersey City as opposed to Manhattan was definitely the way to go. Personally, I love NY, but it was cheaper to stay and more sane to navigate. Plus, the line for the JC ferry was easily half as long and moved twice as quickly as the Battery Park one.

Searching for family, surrounded by family.

Searching for family, surrounded by family.

The kid loves Lady Liberty. We read several books about the statue and about immigration before the trip, so he was well-prepared. When given the option to choose a gift from the gift shop, he chose a replica statue and this hat. Then posed like the statue on the wall and asked me to take a picture.

The kid loves Lady Liberty. We read several books about the statue and about immigration before the trip, so he was well-prepared. When given the option to choose a gift from the gift shop, he chose a replica statue and this hat. Then posed like the statue on the wall and asked me to take a picture.

The next morning, when I told him to color for a bit so I could keep sleeping, this is the masterpiece he turned out.

The next morning, when I told him to color for a bit so I could keep sleeping, this is the masterpiece he turned out.

The trip up to Massachusetts from Jersey City at the end of the weekend was actually delightful and included brunch in the West Village with my boy, a drive up the West Side Highway, where we spied the ship we’ll sail on later this spring, a stop at the Pez Visitors’ Center (which was a lot more fun with a 5-year old than it was with a 3-year-old) and an entire morning at the Springfield (MA) museums, complete with animatronic dinosaurs (short video here), a fossil craft project, and exploration of the Dr. Seuss memorial statues.

Charming Brunch Spot is charming.

Charming Brunch Spot is charming.

I took some photos of The Who with the Horton statue and those are forthcoming. In the meantime, Theodor Seuss Geisel/Cat in The Hat selfie.

I took some photos of The Who with the Horton statue and those are forthcoming. In the meantime, Theodor Seuss Geisel/Cat in The Hat selfie.

So far, we’ve had very few set plans and have been able to spend a lot of time with my nephews. It’s been a total joy to see The Who delighting in his cousins and this is really the first trip where he’s been able to actually play with them quite a bit. Frisbee, Capture the Flag, basement soccer, and tag. Today we went swimming and then took a trip into Fenway to walk around a bit. According to The Who, his two cousins hung the moon.

"I love cousins! They're even better than grandpeople!"

“I love cousins! They’re even better than grandpeople!”

We’ve got a few more days of this and then a week to recuperate before kindergarten starts.

(Kindergarten. What?)

 

Leave a Reply

