Redux.

All righty — here we go, kids. I feel like it’s been a really long time since I posted anything, mostly because my brain is fried at the end of the day. So, here’s a bullet list, which, if you’ve been following along, you know is what I do when I’m stumped.

  • Oh, Wawa. I just can’t quit you. Wawa and all fast food, really. The schedule + the commute this summer is making stopping for dinner on the way home much too appealing. I’m really not terribly interested in even eating it, but it keeps winning out over the idea of coming home and putting something together. The big idea about prepping meals on Sunday lasted about a week or two and now I’m not doing it. My son is going to turn into a small container of mac-n-cheese.
  • The garden is wild. Wild, I say. From a small patch of hopeful seedlings to an inarguable salad, she has grown. Today I harvested an eggplant, three bell peppers, and a handful of tomatoes. Despite the stress dreams I keep having about harvesting too early or having my watermelons non-consensually plucked before their time, I really am enjoying the nurturing process. A few minutes every day or every other. That’s the kind of garden labor I can get behind.
    Photo Jul 29, 6 19 01 PM
  • I got a giant vat of blueberries from BJ’s on Saturday because I had a coupon and I figured I could just freeze the leftovers (Vitamix for the win!) but, no thank you, ma’am. We are plowing our way through these delicious little gems and they’ll be gone tomorrow. I feel like blueberries are only really, really good for about three weeks in the middle of the summer and the time is now. I am tempted to make a special trip back to BJ’s for another vat for the second half of the week. That’s pushing it, right?
  • Despite my complaints about weather and early rising and commuting, as my summer job winds down, I am getting a little sad. I was sort of running it down for The Who before bed tonight: We have this week and then vacation and then one more week. Then a couple of weeks at home and then school starts. Damn. Seriously? Is summer that close to being over?
  • Also, SCHOOL! This year is The Who’s last year of Pre-K and his final year at the school/daycare where he has been since he was 13 months old. I am excited for kindergarten and for all the things he is going to learn. Excited for the new ways I get to parent during the school-age years, and just excited for change in general. But, talk about the summer flying by — that’s nothing compared to the last four years.
Leave a Reply

