Go.

We’re about to embark on a 10-day trip that begins and ends with a cross-country flight and has a three-hour drive in the middle. Just The Who and me. We are seasoned travelers, having taken many flights and road trips together, the first of which when he was just two months old.

First Road Trip

First Road Trip

I have navigated airports with him as both a stroller-rider and a walker (and runner!) and I have successfully driven us to Boston and back more times than I can count.

Already a seasoned air traveler at 9 months old.

Already a seasoned air traveler at 9 months old.

I know what works (snacks, toys, and a fully charged media-playing device) and what doesn’t (over-scheduling, chocolate, and forgetting the daily Miralax dose.) So, why am I so anxious as the days leading up to this trip tick down?

What I have done:

  • Made multiple lists (my suitcase, The Who’s suitcase, my carry-on, The Who’s carry-on, To-Do)
  • Purchased a handful of toys/crafts to “unwrap” during travel (puzzles, foam craft kit, books, markers)
  • Brought up the suitcases and opened them up so we can start filling them slowly over the next several days
  • Put all of our accommodation ducks in a row (secured who we are staying with and when, confirmed rental car reservation, confirmed hotel reservation, set a reminder on my phone to check in for the flight)
  • Planned out the timing of the day we leave so we get to the airport on time

What I have left to do:

  • Finish all my grading
  • Do some cooking to leave for m*
Even by boat! (Ferry from Boston to Provincetown)

Even by boat! (Ferry from Boston to Provincetown)

What am I missing? Seasoned travelers, especially: weigh in. What can I do to lose the anxiety and focus on the excitement of traveling to a city where I have never been, but have always wanted to visit and seeing friends that I really love?

Leave a Reply

