Toys.

Is it weird that The Who doesn’t have any toys in his room? When I think about my room growing up, I always had toys in it. It was a tiny bedroom, but it was loaded. Shelves mounted on the wall, stacked with games; a plastic bookshelf, filled; a doll carriage with dolls in it; a big wooden dollhouse taking up one whole side of my dresser; a “pet net” suspended in the corner; and a multitude of stuffed animals on the bed. If I was sent to my room (which, if memory serves, happened regularly) I rarely minded because I had so much to do in there. My brother’s room was the same. We had a pretty small house and most of our toys were contained to our bedroom. We had no playroom or basement and I don’t recall many toys taking up residence in our living room or kitchen.

Train Table. Dining Room.

Train Table. Dining Room.

It’s quite the opposite in our house now. We also don’t have a dedicated toy room (though we are working to rectify that) but his toys have taken over our house. We try to weed through them and thin the collection out semi-regularly, but that doesn’t change the fact that we have pushed our dining room table against the wall to make more space for him to play and have filled an entire dresser in the living room full of toys. (This doesn’t include the bin organizer in the dining room, the Thomas train table with two under-table rolling bins (also in the dining room), the little art table (dining room), the filled-with-kid-books-and-playdoh-and-games built-in bookshelves (dining room), Lego table (living room) bike with training wheels (living room), bin of blocks (living room), and lineup of fire trucks (living room.) His bedroom houses only his bed, his dresser, a small bookshelf (in the closet), and a small box of Duplo blocks.

DSC_0256

Cars on the ottoman, blue-topped block bin, dresser full of toys. Lego table just out of frame. Living Room.

I once read, in regards to having a television in an adult bedroom, that a bedroom should only be for sleeping. Is that true for kids as well or are we doing him a disservice by not giving him a private, dedicated place to play? We often complain that he doesn’t play by himself enough and now I’m wondering if it’s because there is no place for him to do that. Because, actually, when he is alone downstairs (if I am showering or otherwise occupied upstairs) he plays alone beautifully. Hopefully, finishing our basement and relocating many of his toys into that new space will give him some of the autonomy our current space lacks. But should his bedroom be full of toys, too?

4 thoughts on “Toys.

  1. I responded to FB before reading the blog…I think toys in the bedroom are helpful when friends are over so kids can play together quietly and not in the main house area…but we had a ranch so I could always keep an eye on the kids playing in their rooms…not so in your house so you might not want too many toys upstairs where you are not. We had the little table and lots of crafts and toy play happened in our kitchen tho toys weren’t stored there. Interesting question since I believe we had no choice in our house but you do…so wonder what you will do.

  2. I remember the shelves in your room I think. My room growing up didn’t really have any toys out – but they were in my closet, and I could take them out and play with them. I just had to put them away when I was done (because – well – you knew my mother – spotless house). But – it was the same in our basement, where we had a variety of other toys too. In our house now, Anita does have a lot of her toys in her room, and in our living room and basement. She chooses to go between them – now that she’s old enough to play in her room. I see no problem with it. It becomes their own space.

  3. The boys have a few toys in their rooms, but nothing BIG, and some stuffed animals on their beds. But there are no toys in my living room, office, dining room, kitchen, etc. Everything else is in their playroom.

  4. No toys in the bedroom for us! We keep the bedroom toy-free, just a small bookshelf with some books. I like to keep it as a dedicated space to sleep and change clothes. Playing is for the rest of our home (mostly playroom and living room, with car-racing taking place on the hardwood floor of the dining room. I prohibit toys in our kitchen (it’s small, and they get underfoot).

Leave a Reply

