Dogs.

You know what we all need more of? Tubular meat.

No, really.

There is an abundance of hot dogs around here, but none of them is particularly good. Certainly not gourmet. (What? Hot dogs can be gourmet. Shut up.) I mean, anyone can walk into a Wawa and grab a 99-cent wiener and it will be ok. It might even hit the spot. But it’s not a destination dog. It’s not a “Ooh, I really want a hot dog for lunch!” dog. It’s a “while I’m here, I’ll grab a dog” dog.

This is not the case at My Three Sons Hot Dog and Beer Emporium. Big name for a little place. But, y’know, it fits. It is, in fact, a beer emporium. There’s an entire case of craft and local brews and I’m told that although there aren’t any ciders representin’, there will be. (There’s also a case of Hank’s soda and bottled water, too.)

This is only a partial shot of all the beer. It's a lotta beer.

This is only a partial shot of all the beer. It’s a lotta beer.

For me, though, it wasn’t the beer that lured me in; it was the promise of a crazy good hot dog. (And let’s face it, a hot dog only needs to be mediocre at best to lure The Who in. He was game from the moment I mentioned it.)

Let me talk to you first about the vinyl tile on the floor. Just go with me. It’s grass, you guys. It’s like, each individual tile is printed with a macro photograph of green, green grass. And then the ceiling is painted sky blue. (You see where I’m going with this, right?) Then there are these impossibly shiny shellacked picnic tables and an old-school hot dog cart parked near the door, stocked with straws, condiments, and utensils. It’s a kicky little place.

The Who was totally enamored with the salt and pepper shakers. He asked to go back there especially to see them.

The Who was totally enamored with the salt and pepper shakers. He asked to go back there especially to see them.

Old school Ms. Pac-Man! The owner set The Who up (with my permission) and it was really fun to hear him talking about Inky and Pinky and the gang.

Old school Ms. Pac-Man! The owner set The Who up (with my permission) and it was really fun to hear him talking about Inky and Pinky and the gang.

The menu is limited, but delicious. If you want anything other than a hot dog, you’re out of luck. There are no alternatives and no vegetarian options, but what they do have is stellar. The hot dog is 10″. Ten. Inches. And it’s stuffed into a custom-sized, pillow-soft bun. The owner tells me that he makes regular pilgrimages to New York to buy the dogs and you can tell by the snap when you bite into it that it’s quality stuff. There are probably 10 or 15 different kinds of dogs you can get, including the one with chili, cheese, and crushed Fritos (which is the one I got) and the one with homemade sauerkraut and melted Swiss (which is the one I brought home for m*.) The dogs are all named after the cities that made them famous. Like the ‘Troit, which is “topped with onions, mustard, and our renowned, illustrious Detroit Sauce – consisting of a blend of ground beef, tomato sauce, chili powder, and unique, proprietary seasoning!” Proprietary seasoning! That sounds enticing, doesn’t it? The “Cally” has fresh avocados on it and I personally can’t wait to try the “Emerald” which has cream cheese and Sriracha (among other things.)

I forgot to take a picture of this before I took a bite. That's how good it was.

I forgot to take a picture of this before I took a bite. That’s how good it was.

Added bonus: they totally cut up The Who's plain dog before serving it. You wouldn't think that would be such a selling point -- unless you've been on the cutting end and had the joy of hot-dog smell on your hands all afternoon.

Added bonus: they totally cut up The Who’s plain dog before serving it. You wouldn’t think that would be such a selling point — unless you’ve been on the cutting end and had the joy of hot-dog smell on your hands all afternoon.

Here’s the downlow: if you’re local and you enjoy a mouthful of wiener (just stop it right now), go to My Three Sons and have lunch. Bring your kid because he will like it too. Even love it. Mine did.

Tell ya what. The friendly guys at My Three Sons will even give a free dog to one lucky commenter. That’s a 6-buck value (these are not cheap dogs, but they’re worth it.) You can even comment and win if you’re not local and donate your win back to the pool. I’ll make sure someone gets to use it. So, let me know what you love about hot dogs. Or what you love about beer. Or what you love about homemade macaroni salad (because they got that, too!) and I’ll enter you into the contest.

This was made an hour before I ate it. He makes all his own side salads (macaroni, cole slaw, and potato) and they're awesome. Fresh and tangy.

This was made an hour before I ate it. He makes all his own side salads (macaroni, cole slaw, and potato) and they’re awesome. Fresh and tangy.

Like their Facebook page and tell me that you did, and I’ll enter you twice. Link to this post on your own blog and tell me you did and I’ll enter you yet again!

Also? I am totally going there as soon as I publish this post. I think I’ll try the LaMontagne today (with a side of minty gum for after!)

***I was not compensated in any way for this review. I’m not even getting a free dog outta the deal, though The Who did get a free gummy hot dog candy. I don’t think it was in exchange for anything, though.

3 thoughts on “Dogs.

  1. Ok, I read their menu from start to finish. I have no idea which hot dog I would even order, but wow, that looks like fun! Who comes up with those combinations? They are great!

  2. Love a great hot dog tho the nitrites thing worries me…maybe they have some without…ask. When you come here, remind me about pac man too! Enjoy your dog!

  3. Just read this and have always loved a good hotdog…but I like mine plain mostly…like to taste the dog. Actually grabbed one from the local flea market (if you can believe it) and it was a really good one — Nathan’s — and while I have always favored Pearl hotdogs, this Nathan’s was more tangy with a great crispy bite (it was grilled). When next I;’m there, let’s go and maybe I’ll be more adventurous…though always in my head are my uncle’s words (he was a meat inspector in the State of Florida): you’d never eat a hotdog if you saw them made!

Leave a Reply

