Cake.

I watch too much Cake Boss.

For some reason, despite the fact that I have never used fondant before and have only once “sculpted” a cake (if you can call following this video “sculpting”) I thought it would be a good idea to attempt a Lego Firetruck cake for The Who’s birthday party. I didn’t think about the timing and that it would come right on the heels of Thanksgiving, right in the middle of grading 65 final papers, and directly leading up to my busy t-shirt painting season.

For his school party on his actual birthday, I just frosted this simple 8" round and topped it with party-store icing decorations (delightedly dubbed "cookies made of SUGAR!) He was happy as could be.

For his school party on his actual birthday, I just frosted this simple 8″ round and topped it with party-store icing decorations (delightedly dubbed “cookies made of SUGAR!) He was happy as could be.

Lucky for me, I was able to enlist a willing (dare I say even enthusiastic) accomplice (who, it’s worth mentioning, has also never taken on a task like this, but does at least have a husband who is a pastry chef, so owns all the necessary tools for assembly.)

There were two smart decisions I made in this whole process. The first was to choose to make pound cake instead of regular boxed cake. I can’t even imagine the crumbly disaster regular, fluffy cake would have been. The second was to pre-bake the cakes before heading to my pal’s to assemble and decorate.

Pounds of cake.

Pounds of cake.

I made all the frosting ahead of time, too. We needed to make a whole 'nother double batch sometime around 11pm, though.

I made all the frosting ahead of time, too. We needed to make a whole ‘nother double batch sometime around 11pm, though.

As it was, it took us 5 hours, one bottle of wine, and several bottles of cider to complete. Imagine if we also had to bake eight pound cakes.

Eight cakes. This is not a typo. I baked eight cakes for this foolishness. And to think I worried that we wouldn’t have enough to feed all the kids. (The entire front end of the truck is now domed unter tin foil in my fridge. Could we possibly eat all that leftover cake?) To be fair, it really was 4 boxes, but each one baked in two loaf pans.

I cut the domes off all the loaves. Because I watch cake shows and I learned about that. Ergo, I am a cake decorating expert.

I cut the domes off all the loaves. Because I watch cake shows and I learned about that. Ergo, I am a cake decorating expert.

And, then, despite having eight (8, EIGHT, eight) cakes, when it came time to lay them out and assemble the shape of the truck, I still wished that I had four more.

(This is what it sounds like inside the mind of a crazy person, in case you’ve ever wondered.)

Once it was assembled (cute, chunky truck shape that it was) we gave it a "crumb coat." (Lingo = expert.)

Once it was assembled (cute, chunky truck shape that it was) we gave it a “crumb coat.” (Lingo = expert.)

J* surveys the cake from all angles.

J* surveys the cake from all angles.

It was handy to have J* the pastry chef around at the beginning for solving our impending windshield disaster (unstable!) and for the Great Crumb Coat clean-up. Unfortunately, he went to bed early, leaving the noobs to their own devices.

It was handy to have J* the pastry chef around at the beginning for solving our impending windshield disaster (unstable!) and for the Great Crumb Coat clean-up. Unfortunately, he went to bed early, leaving the noobs to their own devices.

In the early part of the evening, we happily rolled fondant and laughed.

In the early part of the evening, we happily rolled fondant and laughed.

As the night wore on? Not as much laughter.

As the night wore on? Not as much laughter.

Ultimately, the cake looked pretty awesome, especially given our collective [lack of] experience in cake-decorating. The question now is whether he (or I) will expect me to match or top this next year or if I’ll ever be able to go back to the “cookies made of sugar” on top of an 8-inch round.

Ambivalent Lego Guy is ambivalent.

Ambivalent Lego Guy is ambivalent.

As it stood when I went home that night.

As it stood when I went home that night.

Our favorite detail Friday night. I now want to spray all my food with silver food coloring paint.

Our favorite detail Friday night. I now want to spray all my food with silver food coloring paint.

My new favorite details come Saturday night.

My new favorite details come Saturday night.

Aaaaaaaand scene.

Aaaaaaaand scene.

One thought on “Cake.

Leave a Reply

