School Days.

The more time I spend with The Who, the better bonded we become. I know — I’m a genius, right? But seriously. It’s true. It’s the days that we spend entirely together (even if there are chunks of it when we are doing separate things, which he occasionally allows) that I end up having the most patience and the most fun with him. It’s the school days when I am short-tempered and easily frustrated. It’s the school days when his limitless questions crawl up my very last nerve and it’s the school days when I inevitably end up yelling at him and/or otherwise being a shit of a mother to him at one point or another during the, what, three total hours we spend together?

So, let’s break it down: home days/togetherness = mostly great time. School days/time apart = crap.

The irony, of course, is that I need/love/crave time alone and I am so very lucky to be able to have that a couple of days during the week. And if I had 5 weekday home days in a row, I’d want to claw my eyes out. I tried that one summer (granted, he was a very young toddler at the time) and I was totally overwhelmed and miserable. Finding a happy balance has been a process. This summer, he will spend two days a week at school (as opposed to the three he spends during the school-year) and I think it will work out splendidly for the whole lot of us.

Today, though, unfortunately, was one of those school days where I just wanted to climb out the window and run far, far away (except, I really just wanted to wander, not run. Because I was so tired from the sugar crash that came after the cupcake I consumed in an effort to not feel so grouchy, which is never a good idea.) Tomorrow’s another school day and I am going to make a concerted effort to Be Nice in the morning and when I pick him up — even if he does take his SWEET EVERLOVING TIME DOING EVERYTHING and all I want is to put his tired self to bed and not answer one single more “why” question, (which are often valid, but the after-school ones tend toward the absurd and are obviously just so he can hear his own voice. E.g. “What are you doing?” Opening the window. “Why?” Because I am hot. “Why?” Because it’s hot in here and my body feels hot. “Why?” Seriously? Seriously?)

Anyway, you know what? I didn’t start writing this post to complain about my lack of patience and my 3.5-year-old’s 3.5-year-old-ness. I started writing it because I am really looking forward to our road trip this weekend and the week visiting family and friends. Even though it’s a lot of time together (m* is staying home, so although my mom will totally help out a lot, I will be the primary caretaker pretty much the whole time) and even though we have had our fair share of frustrations while traveling, these trips always re-establish our connection. I’m excited about hopping in the car together for an adventure. I’m excited about our Sunday-night “hotel movie party” and I’m excited about just breaking out of our routine and hanging out.

The end.

One thought on “School Days.

  1. Mother/child connection is so strong even when the relationship isn’t good. In this case, it is good and you are always trying to improve what you see are weak areas, which is admirable. Hope the road trip is fun as you want it to be altho be careful of expectations and looking forward to enjoying you both and giving you some break time — distance makes the heart grow fonder 🙂

Leave a Reply

