2012, Part 4.

There’s this meme I’ve been doing for a lot of years.* I swear I did it on Facebook last year, but now I can’t find it — even with the new fancy Timeline. Whatev, Facebook. Thanks for nothing. Anyway, this is 40 questions long. I’m going to answer 8 each day and then it will be 2012. Yes. Bring it.

*I’d love for you to do this, too. Either in comments or on your own blog.

(Read Part 1)    (Read Part 2)     (Read Part 3)

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Not exactly. Hate is such a strong word and I actually don’t believe that I hate anyone. There is one person, though, who recently really started getting under my skin. After a recent seemingly insignificant incident, every time I see this person’s name printed anywhere, I feel protective and angry. I should probably either let it go or arrange things in my life so that I am rarely reminded of this person and that incident. It’s not worth the negative energy in my life.

26. What was the best book you read?
The Help was the last book I really enjoyed. It was the book that kept drawing me back to my Kindle. I read every night and any idle time I had. Then, when the movie came out and all the social and political commentary and criticism was all over the web, the book got even that much more interesting. I am actually thinking of teaching it in my lit class next term because there are so many opportunities for analysis.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Pandora! Hands down. I know it’s not a band or artist, but it still fits, right? (Nosegay can be a flower.) I suppose, now that I am thinking about it, it’s no different from Sirius (to which I have a lifetime subscription) but it seems different somehow. And I enjoy it.

28. What did you want and get?
Again with the iPhone. Also, a little more clarity about my own toddlerhood and parenting a toddler.

29. What did you want and not get?
I’m not sure I can go into as much detail here as I’d like to — given how public this is. But it’s enough to say that everything is a work in progress and even though sometimes I feel like I am going to want and want and want and want and never get, forever is a very long time. And I am an optimist.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Bridesmaids, hands down. I don’t know that I would necessarily call it a “film” per se, butI laughed my ass off for two hours and that was just what I needed. (I also really liked Moneyball)

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 37 and I had very little memory of what I did that day, so I checked my Facebook Timeline and it told me that many people wished me a happy birthday, but that I had a mostly crappy day. I think it must have been rainy, which I hate on my birthday. I also saw that the day after, I wrote:  “I’m re-doing yesterday. The Who and I got up early, ran a couple of errands, hung out at the Y, swimming lessons, pizza lunch date, now he is napping. Tonight, m* and I have my birthday date night. Let’s just pretend today is my birthday instead.”

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Please see #29.

One thought on “2012, Part 4.

  1. Pingback: 2012, Part 5. (fin.) « Mama Hears a Who

Leave a Reply

