2012, Part 3.

There’s this meme I’ve been doing for a lot of years.* I swear I did it on Facebook last year, but now I can’t find it — even with the new fancy Timeline. Whatev, Facebook. Thanks for nothing. Anyway, this is 40 questions long. I’m going to answer 8 each day and then it will be 2012. Yes. Bring it.

*I’d love for you to do this, too. Either in comments or on your own blog.

(Read Part 1)    (Read Part 2)

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?
I’m not sure, to be honest. I am sadder than this time last week. But last year? Probably depends on the day you asked me.

ii. thinner or fatter?
Certainly fatter and a lot has to do with the amount of Panera bacon/egg/cheese ciabattas I have been consuming lately.

iii. richer or poorer?
Poorer in my personal savings account. I’m not contributing much to it these days and can’t wait for my birthday so I can ask for some liquid cash as a gift. (Is that tacky at age 37?)

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Sleeping. I do not get enough sleep. I go to bed way too late and always have. Although I love sleeping and love feeling well-rested, I cherish my alone time in the late evenings and extending it feels like a decadent gift every night.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Wasting time. I let hours of each day slip away without really noticing it several days a week. It’s fine to sit around on Facebook or click through a bunch of websites for hours as long as I do it mindfully. But too often, I’ll find that time has disappeared and I wasn’t paying attention.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Moot point because it’s over. But this year, I spent Christmas day at home, all day, fighting with my internal self and trying to control my control issues. Irony, much? It certainly was a challenging day and although I didn’t feel completely miserable at the time, in retrospect, it was exhausting and not terribly pleasant. Good thing I’m a Jew and my expectations for Christmas are about the same as my expectations for any random Sunday.

21. What was your favorite month of 2011?
August pretty much ruled, as it began with a week on the beach with my family. Summer is generally a good time for me these days.

22. Did you fall in love in 2011?
No. Not new love, anyway.

23. How many one-night stands?
Zero.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Ah, this is a hard one. This year, our first with a DVR, we have watched a lot of shows together. Among my favorites: American Idol, Top Chef, Next Iron Chef, Dexter, Nurse Jackie, and Mad Men. Our DVR seems to have a lot of competition reality on it and I’m probably supposed to be ashamed or embarrassed about that, but I’m not. We also watch The X Factor, The Next Great Baker, Food Network Challenge, Top Chef Just Desserts, Dancing with the Stars, and America’s Got Talent.

 

2 thoughts on “2012, Part 3.

  1. Pingback: 2012, Part 4 « Mama Hears a Who

  2. Pingback: 2012, Part 5. (fin.) « Mama Hears a Who

Leave a Reply

