2012, Part 1.

There’s this meme I’ve been doing for a lot of years.* I swear I did it on Facebook last year, but now I can’t find it — even with the new fancy Timeline. Whatev, Facebook. Thanks for nothing. Anyway, this is 40 questions long. I’m going to answer 8 each day for the next 5 days and then it will be 2012. Yes. Bring it.

*I’d love for you to do this, too. Either in comments or on your own blog.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Joined the neighborhood pool. I’ve written about this pool thing before, but it’s monumental enough to mention here again because of what joining it required me to do: don a swimsuit in public, haul a toddler and all of his stuff in the blazing heat while wearing said swimsuit, and then parade around the pool grounds, in and out of water, often bending in unflattering positions, while surrounded by my friends. It was so worth it, though. The pool was pretty much the highlight of my summer.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I have no idea what I resolved to do last year, but I do have some for this year. I love resolutions. And I hate them. I lovehate them. I believe that resolving to do something sets one up for certain failure. And also, the popularity of them makes it seem like we are all so wrong and bad and broken that we need to resolve to change and fix and be better. I suppose I could resolve to stay the same. But even then. Still, that said, I love a clean slate. A fresh start is my dreamy boyfriend. I’m probably not disclosing my specific resolutions anywhere except maybe in my personal journal, but I do have some.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No. Not yet. But I know quite a few pregnants. And while I, of course, hope they all go well, there is one in particular that I feel really invested in. I really can’t wait to meet this baby and see the fruits of this couple’s labor get rewarded with a tiny human. They deserve it.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yeah. My Nana died. She was coming up on 95 years old and whenever I hear about people that old who have died, it always seems to me that their age should mitigate the family’s pain. But it doesn’t.

5. What countries did you visit?
None.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
So many tangibles: a potty-trained child being at the very top of my list today. A new printer that actually works with my computer. A real driveway. Always more money. It’s the intangibles that really count, though. More self-respect. More self-control. Less self-criticism. Stuff like that there.

7. What date from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
11-11-11. Because people just couldn’t stop talking about it.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Paying off my car and my student loans, although, by all accounts, I really shouldn’t count this as my achievement. M* did it with her hard work, her impeccable bookkeeping and her commitment to our family being debt-free. I never could have done it alone — at least not in 2011.

3 thoughts on “2012, Part 1.

  1. Pingback: 2012, Part 2. « Mama Hears a Who

  2. Pingback: 2012, Part 4 « Mama Hears a Who

  3. Pingback: 2012, Part 5. (fin.) « Mama Hears a Who

Leave a Reply

