Halloweenie.

Halloween is around the corner and we’re getting ready. Putting together a costume for The Who (a construction worker) and painting pumpkins. But the truth is that I don’t really care about Halloween all that much. I mean, it was really fun last year. Just like a scene out of a movie, in fact. And, ok, free candy. But, I don’t know. It’s just a good time like going to a playground is a good time. Like apple picking was a good time. Not like This Is My Favorite Day Of The Year!!!!! good time, which is how some of my friends think of Halloween.

Every year, I look forward to handing out candy to all the little trick-or-treaters, but then every year when the doorbell rings for the first time, I’m already over it. Last year, we left a bowl on the porch and locked the door and I was fine with that. There’s only so much feigning interest in stupid, generic Disney princesses one person can manage.

There is one part of Halloween I dig, though, and that’s watching The Who start to get excited about dressing up and being imaginative. I don’t think he really remembers trick-or-treating, nor do I think he has any real idea what will happen on that night, but the dressing up part? He totally gets that. And I love it.

We tried on some glasses in the costume section of a local store today. Creepy.

Non-creepy masks that still kinda creep me out.

Stay tuned for actual Halloween pictures of his actual Halloween costume at some point after actual Halloween, which I’m sure will be fun. Unless it rains.

Leave a Reply

