Ganks for the Lemmalade, Mama.

He says really adorable things lately. Like today, while he was poking around in my wallet, he asked me to take out my “mama card” for him. I had to explain that it was my driver’s license and it was important and I couldn’t let him play with it, but really, I just wanted to kiss up his cute cheeks. Mama card. The toddler/preschooler mind is a fantastic thing.

One of the things I love about his teacher this year is that she loves their minds as much as I do and she often asks them questions and records their answers, word for word. When I pick him up at the end of the day, I am often treated to an impossibly precious quote of his up on the whiteboard outside his classroom. Like that time he said “I have no brothers and no sisters. I have my Mama and my Mommy.” Ok, all together now: awwwwww.

Mispronunciations are cute and I keep a little log of them in my phone because I know someday when he’s a grown man with a strong, deep voice and stellar grammar and diction, I will want to remember that he said “ftink” instead of “think” and that he’s asking for a drink when he tells me he’s “firfsty.” But the real gems are the long strings of thoughts that come pouring out of him when he’s sitting and processing things. It’s something I can’t really accurately articulate because I can never remember it exactly the way I heard it, which is what makes it worth repeating.

Sometimes I can get it down right after he says it and text it to m* because I know she will think it is just as amazing as I do. Sometimes I get it on Facebook because I hope that someone will think it’s as amazing as I do. But then sometimes I just listen to it and love it and smile to myself and move on.

These are some really trying and annoying and frustrating years, these first few. But they are also crazy cute. And I’m eating it up.

Leave a Reply

