Pee.

We started potty training here today and lemme tell you this: I am not looking forward to tomorrow.

It’s actually going better than I expected; out of five pees, two made it fully into the potty! He was willing to sit when I asked him to (mostly — he was much more amenable before nap than he was after) and he even demonstrated some remarkable patience. In fact, he probably had more patience than I have. I am trying really hard to maintain a completely relaxed attitude, while still staying on top of him and helping him to be successful. But it’s not easy.

I’m sure there are as many ways to potty train a child as there are to skin a cat (speaking of which, my big cat is covered in mats and I am all stressed out about getting him groomed, but that’s another post for another blog) but I am a complete noob here. I have no idea. The only thing I have ever been sure of is that once we left diapers, we’d be leaving them for good (except nap and night.) It was hard for The Who to have no diaper after his epic nap today (3.5 hours. Was it no-time-difference jet lag? Potty training exhaustion?) and he wanted to wear one under his jammies. When he woke up, though, he was dry and I really wanted to keep it off him because I knew he had a pee in there. Just a few minutes of back and forth, though, and he came around, eventually going commando under his jammies until the first accident and then nudie booty for the rest of the evening.

So, yeah. Successful. It really was. Two whole pees in the potty, poured into the bit pot together, and an M&M reward with great fanfare each time. No major meltdowns. No battle of wills. No anger or stress. Lots of Mama-Who playtime. And I have no reason to believe that tomorrow won’t be more of the same.

But at the same time, it’s like having a new crawler with a fever on my hands. I can’t leave him alone for a second and can’t leave the house. By the end of the day, when m* finally arrived home 12 hours after she left, I was feeling pretty wrecked. I need to figure out a way to get a shower and get out of the house, even if it’s only for an hour. I am proud of The Who and proud of me, but I am so not looking forward to tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

