Quotes.

  • While cooking grilled cheese with me: “When I grow up, I wanna be a Boy-Cooking-Grilled-Cheese Man.”
  • In his crib when M* went up to get a toy out of his crib: “I’m hot. Did you come up here to get all the hot out of me?”
  • While eating ice cream:
    The Who: Ice cream, YUM!
    Mama: Oh, hey, tomorrow is Flag Day!
    The Who: Flag Day-YUM!
  • Playing trains: “This train and this train and this train are sad about the track is nervous.”
  • While driving his ride-on truck from the living room to the kitchen and back: “Mama, I missed you. Did you miss me when I was putting my truck in the car wash? I’m going do the car wash one more time, then come back and love you.”
  • In the car at the end of a. 9-hr drive: “No, Mama. We are just going home. We don’t have to worry about whistling. When your boy tells you to whistle, you have to whistle. And when a grown-up tells me to don’t whistle, I don’t have to whistle.”
  • After being asked by M* if he wanted to say good morning to me: “Um, I don’t need to. I wanna say hi to Mama in another day.”
  • An exchange:
    Am I little?
    Ummm, yeah you’re little.
    Am I a big boy?
    Well, yes. You’re a bigger boy than when you were a baby.
    Why I’m not a baby anymore?
    Because you grew.
    Why I grew?
    Because you ate food and drank water and got lots of rest and that’s what bodies do when you eat and drink and sleep. They grow.
    (Pause)
    And my nipples growed!
  • Across the house in the living room, singing. Stops singing and says (presumably to one of the cats): “No I sitting right here! I sitting here and you go over there. Your place is in the litter box!”
  • Eating breakfast, discussing how hungry we were: “I’m hungry for my Mommy to wake up.”
  • While I was kissing his cheek: “I don’t have time for that, Mama.”
  • And, finally:

    While walking into the house from the car with his toy phone up to his ear, "Hello? Grandma? Are you there, Grandma? Hello? Why Grandma's not talking to me?""

One thought on “Quotes.

Leave a Reply

