Grace.

It’s very easy to miss the grace in my life when I am always focused on the crap. Sleep, communication, food, body, time, money, work, pain, anxiety. Just trying to make it to nap time and bed time.  The cats poop on the floor. My partner is exhausted. The kid keeps waking up. I can’t get it together to plan and cook a meal. Hem some pants. Stop eating M&Ms. So much angst and I keep losing track of the grace.

My home. My friends. My wife. My beautiful, beautiful boy.

I know everyone has his or her cross to bear. I know hardships feel hard even when they’re not that hard compared to earthquakes in Japan and friends twice “blessed” with cancer. I don’t really want to beat myself up over the things that are legitimately difficult just because it could be so much worse. But I do want to make sure that for at least a minute every day, I take stock of what I have and feel the gratitude.

I know I complain a lot. I have a lot to complain about. But I also have a life full of gifts and I see those too.

2 thoughts on “Grace.

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I lost the ability to do this for a while, and I’m finding it again. I think we have to do both – work through the hard stuff by complaining or crying or running or whatever, and then pause and appreciate what we have.

    Very insightful. Glad I followed the link from Momoir’s post on FB. 🙂

Leave a Reply

